Sherpa Tenzing Norgay

The first to climb Everest and the inspiration for the name of our original Swiss sun protection.

On 29 May 1953, Sherpa Tenzing Norgay and New Zealander Edmund Hillary became the first people to set foot on the summit of Mount Everest. This made headlines worldwide and led to international renown. In much of continental Europe, Tenzing was known as Tensing.

Sherpa Tensing Historie


Sherpa Tensing – A name synonymous with performance and high standards.

Energy and total dedication were what made Sherpa Tenzing Norgay one of the first people ever to reach the summit of Mount Everest. This fantastic performance under the blazing Himalayan sun corresponds with the aspiration of the Sherpa Tensing brand to constantly optimize the performance of our sun protection products. Sherpa Tenzing Norgay was impressed with the products made in Winterthur and even agreed to put his name on them.

1954 – The launch of the first Sherpa Tensing sun milk.


Peak performance at the leading edge

Sun protection is more important today than ever – not only has the intensity of the sun’s rays increased, but so has the knowledge of their potential consequences. With our aspiration to offer the perfect sun protection for the whole family, at Sherpa Tensing we have convinced and impressed our customers for over 60 years.

Since 1954.

Sherpa Tenzing Norgay – unser Namensgeber.

Vom Erstbesteiger des Mount Everest zum original Schweizer Sonnenschutz.

Am 29. Mai 1953 bestieg Sherpa Tenzing Norgay gemeinsam mit dem Neuseeländer Sir Edmund P. Hillary erstmalig den Gipfel des Mount Everest. Eine Weltsensation, die seinen Namen bis heute rund um den Globus bekannt gemacht hat.

Sherpa Tensing Historie


Sherpa Tensing – ein Name, der für Leistung und Anspruch steht.

Sherpa Tenzing Norgay hat mit Ausdauer und absolutem Leistungswillen als einer der ersten Menschen den Gipfel des Mount Everest bestiegen. Diese Spitzenleistung in der Höhensonne des Himalaya deckt sich mit dem Anspruch der Marke Sherpa Tensing, stets die Leistungsfähigkeit unserer Sonnenschutz-Produkte zu optimieren. Und so war auch Sherpa Tenzing Norgay von den Produkten aus Winterthur begeistert und stellte dafür sogar seinen Namen zur Verfügung.


Spitzenleistung auf der Höhe der Zeit.

Sonnenschutz ist heute wichtiger denn je – nicht nur die Intensität der Sonnenstrahlung hat zugenommen, sondern auch das Wissen über mögliche Folgen. Mit unserem Anspruch, den perfekten Sonnenschutz für die ganze Familie zu bieten, überzeugt und begeistert Sherpa Tensing nun schon seit über 60 Jahren.

Seit 1954.