Sherpa Tenzing Norgay

The first to climb Everest and the inspiration for the name of our original Swiss sun protection.

On 29 May 1953, Sherpa Tenzing Norgay and New Zealander Edmund Hillary became the first people to set foot on the summit of Mount Everest. This made headlines worldwide and led to international renown. In much of continental Europe, Tenzing was known as Tensing.

Sherpa Tensing Historie


Sherpa Tensing – A name synonymous with performance and high standards.

Energy and total dedication were what made Sherpa Tenzing Norgay one of the first people ever to reach the summit of Mount Everest. This fantastic performance under the blazing Himalayan sun corresponds with the aspiration of the Sherpa Tensing brand to constantly optimize the performance of our sun protection products. Sherpa Tenzing Norgay was impressed with the products made in Winterthur and even agreed to put his name on them.

1954 – The launch of the first Sherpa Tensing sun milk.


Peak performance at the leading edge

Sun protection is more important today than ever – not only has the intensity of the sun’s rays increased, but so has the knowledge of their potential consequences. With our aspiration to offer the perfect sun protection for the whole family, at Sherpa Tensing we have convinced and impressed our customers for over 60 years.

Since 1954.

Sherpa Tensing Norgay: l’homme qui a donné son nom à nos produits!

Du premier alpiniste à avoir gravi l’Everest à la protection solaire de fabrication suisse.

Le 29 mai 1953, accompagné du Néo-Zélandais Sir Edmund P. Hillary, le sherpa Tensing Norgay posait pour la première fois le pied sur le toit du monde. Son exploit fit alors vibrer la planète toute entière. Et c’est ainsi qu’il devint le célèbre alpiniste encore connu de tous aujourd’hui.

Sherpa Tensing Historie


Sherpa Tensing: un nom synonyme d’ambition et de performance.

Doté d’une endurance exceptionnelle doublée d’une volonté de fer, le sherpa Tenzing Norgay fut l’un des premiers hommes à avoir réussi l’ascension de l’Everest. Cet exploit sous le soleil brûlant de l’Himalaya fait écho à l’ambition de la marque Sherpa Tensing de vouloir améliorer en permanence l’efficacité de ses produits solaires. De son côté, le sherpa Tensing Norgay fut lui aussi enthousiasmé par les produits de Winterthour…il n’en fallut pas plus pour qu’il accepte de leur prêter son nom!

1954: lancement du premier lait solaire Sherpa Tensing.


La performance à l’épreuve du temps

Aujourd’hui plus que jamais, se protéger du soleil est essentiel: non seulement les rayons sont plus intenses qu’autrefois, mais on connaît mieux aujourd’hui leur impact sur la santé . Avec cette volonté d’offrir une protection solaire optimale pour toute la famille, Sherpa Tensing fait le bonheur des petits et des grands depuis plus de 60 ans maintenant.

Depuis 1954.